Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 58 of 230

58 Associate of Science Core Curriculum The Mathematics and Life and Physical Science are more specific in the Associate of Science degree plans. The table below outlines the requirements. Mathematics MATH 1324 2412 2413 3 Life and Physical Sciences BIOL 1406 1407 2401 2402 6* CHEM 1411 1412 2423 2425 ENVR 1401 1402 Students must take GEOL 1403 1404 Paired courses PHYS 1401 1402 2425 2426 *Extra SCH will be applied to degree plan general electives. Associate of Arts (AA) Associate of Arts in Teaching (AAT) Associate of Science (AS) The Associate of Arts (AA), Associate of Arts in Teaching (AAT), and Associate of Science (AS) degrees are designed for students who plan to transfer to four year institutions and pursue baccalaureate degrees. AA, AAT, and AS degrees include 60 to 66 hours of freshman and sophomore courses. Degrees are based on the core curriculum developed by the State of Texas and are updated to include Fields of Study as they become available from the state. The AAT degree is de- signed for teacher preparation and specifically transfers to upper division education programs. Because of common course numbering and similarity in de- gree plans, students can easily matriculate to universities with most credits being accepted by public postsecondary institutions in Texas. Graduation Requirements: see Chapter 1 Core Curriculum Completion Lee College recognizes completion of the core curriculum for students seeking AA, AAT, and AS degrees that have completed the entire core curriculum with Lee College with a GPA of 2.0 or better. At graduation, students will receive an acknowledgement for core curriculum completed. All stu- dents who complete the core curriculum will have it noted on their transcript. Field of Study Field of study curricula were mandated by the state legisla- ture in 1997. These programs offer transferability to general academic teaching institutions in the state of Texas and guarantee substitution for lower division requirements for the degree program. Lee College currently offers Field of Study in five areas: Computer Science, Criminal Justice, Music, Speech Communications, and Business. Area of Concentration Areas of Concentration (AOC) provide structure to the elec- tive courses taken to complete an AA or AS degree. Students focused on a major for Bachelor's degree work have multiple AOCs to choose from. It is the responsibility of the student to contact the transfer university to obtain its specific course requirements and enroll in appropriate lower division courses. AA Area of Concentration: American Studies, Architecture, Church Music, Criminal Jus- tice, Drama, English, General Studies, Health, Humanities, Literature, Mexican American Studies, Physical Education, Social Sciences, Social Work, Spanish, Transfer in Allied Health, Visual Arts, and Visual Arts: Imaging. AS Area of Concentration: Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Geology, Mathe- matics, Physics, and Pre-Engineering Articulation Agreements Articulation agreements are specific degree plans agreed upon between Lee College and a 4-year institute of higher education. A list of current transfer articulation agreements can be found at: _articulation_agreements.asp.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of Catalog - 2014-2015-Catalog